Morphing of Polygonal Lines

Generalization of linear features in interactive maps

Depending on the scale objects in a map are displayed with different levels of detail. In cartography the simplification process that finds the right level of detail is known as generalization. Classical (paper) maps are designed for a fixed single scale and generalization is optimized such that the map is as readable as possible at the given scale. In today's web-based and interactive maps, however, the user can zoom in and out and fix his/her own scale. One can observe in current systems that linear objects like rivers or roads do not change smoothly. In our work we use dynamic programming in order to transform (or morph) a polygonal line as smooth as possible from one representation to another. To this end we identify characteristic segments of the two polygonal lines and match them optimally.

The example below shows the morphing of a road section. (Gray lines indicate the animation.)

(a) simple linear interpolation

(b) result of our algorithm

Joint work with Damian Merrick.

Publications

  1. Damian Merrick, Martin Nöllenburg, Alexander Wolff, and Marc Benkert. Morphing polygonal lines: A step towards continuous generalization. In Adam Winstanley, editor, Proc. 15th Annu. Geograph. Inform. Sci. Research Conf. UK (GISRUK'07), pages 390-399, Maynooth, Ireland, 2007. [ bib | pdf ]
  2. Damian Merrick, Martin Nöllenburg, Alexander Wolff, and Marc Benkert. Morphing polygonal lines: A step towards continuous generalization. In Proc. 15th Annu. Geograph. Inform. Sci. Research Conf. UK (GISRUK'07), pages 390-399, Maynooth, Ireland, 2007. [ bib | html | pdf ]

Morphen von Polygonzügen

Generalisierung linearer Objekte in interaktiven Landkarten

Je nach Maßstab werden Objekte in Landkarten unterschiedlich detailliert dargestellt. In der Kartografie heißt der Vereinfachungsprozess, der die Detailliertheit von Objekten bestimmt auch Generalisierung. Bei klassischen Karten mit einem festen Maßstab wird die Generalisierung auf diesen Zielmaßstab hin optimiert, so dass die entstehende Karte möglichst gut lesbar ist. In aktuellen webbasierten und interaktiven Karten hingegen kann der Benutzer kontinuierlich zoomen und den Maßstab festlegen. Dabei ist zu beobachten, dass sich lineare Objekte wie Straßen und Flüsse oft nicht gleichmäßig verändern. In unserer Arbeit benutzen wir dynamische Programmierung um einen Polygonzug mit möglichst gleichmäßig von einer Darstellung in eine andere zu transformieren (oder morphen). Es werden dazu charakteristische Abschnitte der beiden Darstellungen identifiziert und gepaart.

Folgendes Beispiel zeigt das Morphen eines Straßenausschnitts. (Graue Linien deuten den Verlauf der Animation an.)

(a) einfache lineare Interpolation

(b) Resultat unseres Algorithmus

In Zusammenarbeit mit Damian Merrick.

Publikationen

  1. Damian Merrick, Martin Nöllenburg, Alexander Wolff, and Marc Benkert. Morphing polygonal lines: A step towards continuous generalization. In Adam Winstanley, editor, Proc. 15th Annu. Geograph. Inform. Sci. Research Conf. UK (GISRUK'07), pages 390-399, Maynooth, Ireland, 2007. [ bib | pdf ]
  2. Damian Merrick, Martin Nöllenburg, Alexander Wolff, and Marc Benkert. Morphing polygonal lines: A step towards continuous generalization. In Proc. 15th Annu. Geograph. Inform. Sci. Research Conf. UK (GISRUK'07), pages 390-399, Maynooth, Ireland, 2007. [ bib | html | pdf ]