Algorithms for Geovisualisation

Research

Schematic Route Sketches

An important use of visualizations of routes in road networks is to support orientation while driving. Traditional road maps with their uniform scale give a general idea of the route, but often do not succeed in showing details of the route within the start and destination region.

Manually generated route sketches overcome this problem by showing a highly abstracted view of the route. We study the problem of automatically generating such route sketches.
»more

Schematic Metro Maps

Schematic metro maps show transportation networks such as metro or subway systems in large cities. However, in contrast to regular city maps, the goal is to show the network topology nicely and clearly while geographic accuracy is less important and some amount of distortion is acceptable.
»more

Labeling of Dynamic Maps

One of the classic problems in cartography is map labeling, i.e., the placement of textual descriptions of (point) features on a map. Dynamic maps, e.g., interactive maps in the Internet or on personal mobile devices, pose new challenges for map labeling.
»more

Boundary Labeling

Maps or technical drawings are two examples of illustrations, where objects must be labeled in order to be comprehensible to an observer. If the image itself has not enough space for the labels, they can alternatively be placed on the image boundary and be connected to the corresponding objects by simple curves.
»more

Cartograms

Cartograms are distorted thematic maps, in which spatial attributes (e.g., population numbers) are represented by the areas of the correpsonding map regions. Geometrically speaking the goal is to find area-proportional contact representations of the planar dual graph of a subdivision of the plane.

Algorithmen zur Geovisualisierung

Forschung

Schematisierung von Routen

Die visuelle Darstellung von Routen in Straßennetzwerken soll die Orientierung im Straßenverkehr unterstützen. Herkömmliche Straßenkarten sind auf Grund des einheitlichen Maßstabs nicht optimal geeignet um diesen Zweck für alle Streckenabschnitte gleichzeitig zu erfüllen.

Um die Nachteile herkömmlicher Routenkarten zu überwinden entwickeln wir ein Verfahren, dass schematische Routenskizzen zeichnet.
»mehr

Verkehrslinienpläne

Linienpläne sind schematische Karten für Verkehrsnetze wie z.B. U-Bahnen in Großstädten. Der Fokus liegt beim Zeichnen dieser Linienpläne allerdings, im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Karten, weniger auf geographischer Genauigkeit als auf einer möglichst übersichtlichen Darstellung der Netztopologie.
»mehr

Beschriftung von dynamischen Karten

Ein klassisches Problem in der Kartographie ist das Positionieren von Beschriftungen in einer Landkarte. Dynamische Karten, z.B. interaktive Karten im Internet oder auf mobilen Endgeräten, eröffnen neue Herausforderungen für Beschriftungsalgorithmen.
»mehr

Randbeschriftungen

Landkarten oder technische Zeichnungen sind nur zwei Beispiele von Grafiken in denen Objekte beschriftet werden müssen, damit sie für den Betrachter verständlich werden. Ist in der Grafik selbst nicht genug Platz für die Beschriftung, so können diese am Rand platziert werden und durch möglichst einfache Kurven mit den zugehörigen Objekten verbunden werden.
»mehr

Cartograms/Kartenanamorphoten

Kartenanamorphoten (engl. cartograms) sind verzerrte thematische Kartendarstellungen, in denen räumliche statistische Informationen (z.B. Einwohnerzahlen) durch die Flächengrößen der jeweiligen Regionen in der Karte dargestellt werden. Geometrisch gesprochen sucht man dabei nach einer flächenproportionalen Kontaktrepräsentation des planaren Dualgraphen einer Unterteilung der Ebene.