Graphclustering

The subject of a number of research projects of mine is identifying and quantifying the clustering structure in networks. The Figure ilustrates the same network twice, once as a dog's breakfast (usually called unstructured data) and once revealing its structure. The size of instances relevant in practice can reach up to several million or even billion elements. Example topics:

  • quality measures and criteria for clusterings, their behavior and properties
  • algorithmic complexity of criteria, computability, optimization, approximation
  • algorithmic approaches for graph clustering, heuristics

Dynamic Graph Clustering

Typically, networks change and evolve, which either impacts their clustering or might even be motivated by it. This figure shows three steps of an evolving network and its changing clustering. Example topics:

  • problem setting 1: online updates of a clustering after changes in the network: quick, smooth, good, i.e., low running time, smooth transitions of the clustering when updating, negligible loss of clustering compared to static methods (in fact, we showed that it is possible to be better in all three criteria).
  • problem setting 2: given an offline sequence of a changing network, analyse the temporal evolution of its clustering, find break points / critical events, track evolving clusters over time.

Network Analysis

A multitude of measures and properties exist for describing networks or parts of them, and for analyzing their role and relevance. The picture shows a selection of such indices and the degree disribution for the network t the top of this page. In a broader context, this field also encompasses the simulation and generation of networks as well as their modeling. Example topics:

  • mathematical modeling of problems on networks
  • properties of networks, e.g., k-core decomposition, centrality measures, distributions
  • generation of artificial random networks: efficiency, completeness, adherence to particular desiderata applied to, e.g., G(n,pin,pout), k-core, preferential attachment

Network Visualization

Analytic visualizations are the key to exploratory network analysis: several properties can be shown simulatneously and in the context of the network's structure. The figure shows the network of autonomous systems in the Internet, wedges of teh annulus correspond to the core-shell decomposition, colors to vertex degrees and vertex areas to centrality. The layout is determined by the edge structure (LunarVis). Example topics:

  • analytic visualizations and network fingerprints
  • analysis of the core hioerarchy of the AS-network and of P2P-networks
  • visualizations of protein-protein similarities during medication

Applications

My research is always oriented towards theoretically sound aims and practical reason. Therefore I often use data from a number of interesting applications, both for motivating problems and for proofs of concept, examples are:

  • anonymized sales data
  • reaction of proteins to medication
  • network of autonomous systems in the Internet
  • road networks and networks of public transportation
  • collaboration- and citation networks
  • online social networks

Other Topics

  • modeling integer linear programs for combinatoric problems
  • data structures and algorithm engineering, in particular for graphs
  • flows, cuts, matroids, planarity, layouts, spring embedding
  • Voronoi diagrams

Graphenclustern

Gegenstand vieler meiner Forschungsarbeiten ist das Auffinden und Quantifizieren von Clusterstruktur in Netzwerken. Das Bild zeigt zweimal dasselbe Netzwerk, links als unsortierter Haufen, rechts mit aufgezeigter Clusterstruktur. Praktische relevante Instanzen reichen bis zu einer Größe von mehreren Millionen oder sogar Milliarden Elementen. Beispielthemen:

  • Qualitätsmaße und Kriterien für Clusterungen sowie deren Verhalten und Eigenschaften
  • Algorithmische Komplexität von Kriterien, Berechenbarkeit, Optimierung, Approximation
  • Algorithmische Herangehensweisen beim Graphenclustern, Heuristiken

Dynamisches Graphenclustern

Typischerweise sind Netzwerke Änderungen unterworfen, welche sich in den Clustern niederschlagen (oder sogar durch sie motiviert sind?). Das Bild zeigt drei Zeitschritte eines Netzwerks, und seiner sich verändernden Clusterstruktur. Beispielthemen:

  • Problemstellung 1: Online-Update der Clusterung nach Änderng im Netzwerk: schnell, reibungslos und gut, i.e., geringe Laufzeit, glatte/stetige Übergänge der Clusterung bei einem Update, geringe Qualitätseinbußen gegenüber einem statischen Verfahren (tatsächlich ist es möglich in allen drei Kriterien besser zu sein).
  • Problemstellung 2: Zeitliche Sequenz (offline) eines veränderlichen Graphen ist gegeben, Untersuchung der zeitlichen Entwicklung der Clusterstruktur des Graphen, Finden von Umbrüchen in der Clusterung, Verfolgen von sich wandelnden Clustern über die Zeit

Netzwerkanalyse

Eine Vielzahl von Maßzahlen und Eigenschaften existieren um ein Netzwerk, oder Teile davon, zu beschreiben, und deren Rolle und Relevanz zu analysieren. Das Bild zeigt einen Auszug solcher Zahlen und die Gradverteilung für den Graphen ganz oben. Im weiteren Sinne gehört zu diesem Thema auch die Simulation und die Modellierung eines Netzwerks. Beispielthemen:

  • Mathematische Modellierung von Problemen auf Netzwerken
  • Eigenschaften von Netzwerken, z.B. k-Core Dekomposition, Zentralitätsmaße, Verteilungen
  • Erzeugung künstlicher Zufallsnetzwerke: Effizienz, Vollständigkeit, unter Einhaltung gewisser erwünschter Eigenschaften, beispielsweise G(n,pin,pout), k-core, preferential attachment

Visualisierungen von Netzwerken

Visualisierung sind der Schlüssel zur explorativen Netzwerkanalyse, mehrere Eigenschaften gleichzeitig können im Kontext des Netzwerks dargestellt werden. Das Bild zeigt das Netzwerk der autonomen Systeme im Internet, Kuchenstücke entsprechen der Core-Zerlegung, Farbe dem Knotengrad und Fläche der Knotenzentralität. Das Layout richtet sich nach Verbindungen (LunarVis). Beispielthemen:

  • Analytische Visualisierungen und Netzwerk-Fingerabdrücke
  • Analyse der Core-Hierarchie des AS-Netzwerks und von P2P-Netzwerken
  • Visualisierung von Protein-Protein Ähnlichkeiten bei Medikation

Anwendungen

Meine Forschung orientiert sich stets sowohl an theoretischen Zielsetzungen als auch an praktischer Sinnhaftigkeit. Dabei nutze ich Daten aus verschiedenen Anwendungen, eine Auswahl sind:

  • Anonymisierte Bondaten aus Einkäufen
  • Reaktion von Proteinen bei Behandlungen
  • Netzwerk der Autotnomen Systeme im Internet
  • Straßennetzwerke und Netzwerke aus öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln
  • Kollaborations- und Zitationsnetzwerke
  • Virtuelle soziale Netzwerke

Sonstige Gebiete

  • ILP-Modellierung kombinatorischer Probleme
  • Datenstrukturen und Algorithm Engineering, insbesondere beim Graphenclustern
  • Flüsse, Schnitte, Matroide, Planarität, Layoutprobleme, Springembedder
  • Voronoi Diagramme